top of page

How to Dress Up Any Outfit


My husband and I were able to stay in a beach house over Memorial Day weekend with some of his buddies from college and their growing families. It was great time of relaxation, fun, and connecting. One of our weekend housemates shared a little tip for dressing up any outfit for FREE, and I wanted to share it with you! She told me, "No matter what I'm wearing, I find that if I do my hair it instantly dresses up my outfit!" I did notice that she always seemed to look put together, cute, and a little glam but I didn't really connect that with her having her hair styled until she told me her little secret. It was then I realized that what she had said was true! It wouldn't matter if she was wearing jeans, a summer dress, or shorts and a t-shirt, she still looked classy and it was all because she took an extra five to ten minutes to do her 'do. This is actually not a new concept. Back in the 1940's a war was on, the stakes were high and purse strings were tight. Women didn't have money to burn on fashion. So to dress up their looks, women invested a little extra time into making their hairstyles especially nice, and these hairstyles are still imitated today with a little modern flair. You don't have to spend a fortune to look great. All it takes is a little creativity and making do. By taking a little extra time to smooth and style that mane you might just be amazed at the compliments you get, especially in this top-knot era! (I think my husband would prefer I be bald than don the top knot - can you relate?) I'd like to leave you with three quick and cute styles that you can try!

(1) This braided bun brought to you by Abby over at Twist Me Pretty blog takes only 2 minutes to do! I tried it today and I love it! It's so easy! See tutorial.

(2) Kate from The Small Things blog shows you how to do an elegant half updo with only bobby pins! On dry hair, this take about 5 minutes. See tutorial.

(3) Here is Kate from The Small Things blog once again showing you how to revive slept-in hair with a little dry shampoo, a curling iron, and hairspray. This 'do takes anywhere from 5 to 12 minutes. See tutorial.

Until next time, be bright and beautiful in word and deed! -Abigail George

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Blogs Worth Checking Out

Let's have some girl talk:

bottom of page