top of page

Things to Be Thankful For: Picnics!

Sometimes I forget how refreshing it is to the soul to be outside. I look around at the trees responding to the wooing of the wind, take in the feel of the grass and sunshine, smell the honeysuckles, listen to the serenading of nature and I'm reminded that this is God's handiwork. No fuss, no muss, just music and dancing.

One evening while Ben was working in the home office and I was preparing dinner, I looked outside and couldn't help but think I was missing something by being indoors, so I decided to surprise my husband with a picnic in our backyard. It was no problem at all to spread a blanket, bring out the prepared meal, and find some nice music to play through a tablet. It was all awfully romantic, until the neighbor, who obviously agreed that an evening like this shouldn't be wasted, caught eyes with us as he made is way to a good reading spot. Then it was just awkward...

We decided to try a picnic again but this time in a local park with a fresh spread including hummus, baba ganoush (Hunnie wasn't really a fan of this one), cucumbers, roasted peppers, with pita bread and smoothies. We didn't regret it! After dinner we had a lot to explore together.

Picnics, planned or not: they're a gift!

Gift 9 of 1,000

-Abigail

The Challenge:

Share 1,000 things that you are thankful for.

The Book:

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Blogs Worth Checking Out

Let's have some girl talk:

bottom of page